PPR006 Power Plant 5 Years VA

Power Plant 5 Years Va
A. Acid Mondays - 4Scan
B. La Fleur - Caged
C. Knuttson/Berg - Acid Nord
D. Justin Massei - Diss Ya
E. Jesper Ryom - Chants
Vinyl.  Inside out sleeve with logo cut out and inner disco sleeve. 

Power Plant: it’s more than a label, it’s also a bold artistic offshoot for La Fleur and the artists she nurtures in her electronic garden. And in 2016, those artists include Circo Loco residents Acid Mondays, the supertalented Jesper Ryom, Knutsson/Berg with Acid Nord and hot PP newcomer Justin Massei, who chooses to ‘Diss Ya’. And then of course there’s La Fleur herself, who offers up the soulful ‘Caged’ exclusively to the PP Five compilation as a reminder of her developing melodic yet underground sound.

Power Plant 5 years VA Inflyte May 17th, 2016 16:19 Acid Mondays are fast-becoming an Ibiza institution. The DJ duo – Negghead & Lex Wolf to those that know them – have years of blissed out Balearic experience and now play at Circo Loco and across the island and indeed the world. They recently played at The Mixmag Lab, delivering a deft mix of house and techno. This is their first release on PP.

La Fleur, of course, needs little introduction. The Watergate resident had a fantastic 2015 and 2016 started with sets at Warung in Brazil, a Monday night stop-off at the Mixmag Lab in London for International Women’s Day (where she played alongside B Traits) and she is playing at Movement in Detroit. She also has a new EP incoming on Watergate.

Justin Massei is a name to watch. Based in Berlin where he now lives and produces, his acclaimed track “What I Don’t Believe In,” caught the ears of DJ/producer Dave Seaman, who later released it on his imprint Selador Recordings. This began a relationship that resulted in a stack of acclaimed releases, including an EP hammered by Richie Hawtin, a remix for Third Son, and a sunrise set behind the decks at the mighty Watergate Club in Berlin. This is his first release for PP.

Knutsson/Berg are a duo to keep a firm eye (and ear!) on. Johanna Knutsson is undoubtedly one of the finest Swedish artists and DJs in the electronic music scene. Currently, Johanna is working closely with Hans Berg, releasing music on their own UFO Station Recordings label. Born and raised in Sweden but based in Berlin for over a decade, Hans Berg is a unique artist. On the one side, he makes killer club music on the other, he conjures atmospheric scores and sounds to accompany the video art and installations of long-term collaborator and celebrated artist Nathalie Djurberg.

With samples fetched from an admirably eclectic music collection, and with a penchant for hip-hop, dub and self-played guitar riffs, Danish Jesper Ryom puts together atmospheres that reveal more with every listen. Now living in Berlin, this is another killer release for PP from Jesper.


10 EUR